Yard Cafe (院子咖啡)

6 Jul

CIMG0553  Yard Cafe

Address: 臺北市大安區建國南路二段193號 (Across from Da-an Park)

Hours: Tuesday-Friday 12:30-23:30, Saturday 11:00-23:00, Sunday 11:00-22:00, closed Monday

Minimum cost per person: Cafe Americano NT$100

I had walked by this cafe many times before when I lived here a few years ago, but never thought of it as a cat cafe. I used to walk by it on my way to the public library (just a few hundred meters further down Jianguo South Road) and pet the huge cat that always sat in front of it. He was sitting in his usual spot outside on the day I went to the cafe, but he followed me in and curled up on my backpack.

CIMG0559CIMG0561Even though this cafe only has one cat, he’s very sweet and worth visiting. From the pictures in the book, he doesn’t look that fat, so I didn’t recognize that it was the same cat I’d seen before. My pictures don’t adequately show his size either, but he must weigh about 20 pounds (9kg).

The cafe has a quiet, comfortable atmosphere and reasonable prices. It doesn’t smell like cat at all, and has a delicious aroma of fresh-baked cookies.

CIMG0554

They have free wi-fi, but they charge NT$20 for electricity if you need to plug your computer in.

Leave a Reply

