Genki Cats (元氣貓主題餐廳)

17 Apr

Genki Cats Genki Cats

Address: 臺北市士林區德行西路93巷2弄13號

Hours: Tuesday-Friday 14:00-21:00, Saturday 12:00-21:00, Closed Mondays

Minimum per person purchase: NT$200 for entry and drink, NT$250 for shaved ice, NT$300 for ice with the most toppings

Since it’s just a few minutes walk from Cafe Dog and Cats (the original cat cafe and one of the nicest I’ve been to) and according to the book was just opened in 2010, I wasn’t optimistic that this place would still be open. The picture above is a very tiny corner of a sign for what looks like a typical tea and shaved ice shop. I looked in and didn’t see any cats.

CIMG0369

But when I asked, they told me I had to buy a ticket. People who don’t want to see cats can order drinks and shaved ice to go or to have in the shop for regular prices. To see cats, ticket prices are as listed above. I got an NT$200 ticket with a green tea latte. They gave me the drink in a disposable cup, along with a ticket and told me to go across the street to #8 and ring the bell. I rang the bell and went up to the second floor of an old apartment building. In the entry way, the attendant asked me to take off my shoes and clean my hands with disinfectant, and then let me into the room with about 15 beautiful cats!

CIMG0376CIMG0375

Everything was very clean and there is a separate room for litter boxes. The room is filled with benches and cat tree houses, and there are lockers for customers to use. The attendant said I might want to put my drink in there too so the cats wouldn’t play with it, but I didn’t mind.

CIMG0384CIMG0402CIMG0391

The cat below was my favorite. Doesn’t he look regal?

CIMG0407CIMG0380

He liked my cup.

CIMG0410

It’s not exactly a cafe and definitely not a restaurant (called “cat themed restaurant” in Chinese), but it’s a great place to play with beautiful cats.

CIMG0399CIMG0416

6 Responses to “Genki Cats (元氣貓主題餐廳)”

  1. Brian David Phillips January 15, 2015 at 3:55 am #

    Originally, they were a cat restaurant with a very simple menu but then changed their model to comply with health code and lease stuff and to simplify their menu (splitting the animals and the food made sense to them as it minimizes some problems with folks who abused the cats). They have sense changed again so the restaurant is back and at a new location while the theme petting area is the same. Most of the cats are Maine Coon (my absolutely favorite breed). The owner also has a Maine Coon cattery for those who wish to adopt a Maine Coon. I have some wonderful photos from our many many visits. 😉

    • impercipient January 15, 2015 at 7:05 am #

      I noticed that they had moved to the other side of Zhishan, opposite Cafe Cats and Dog, although when I checked it out a month or two ago it didn’t look very open, no signs about hours or a phone number to call. Through the window I could see that was at least what it used to be, but it was the middle of the day on a Saturday so I think it should have been open. I was thinking of adding an update to this entry. When was the last time you went there?

  2. Brian David Phillips January 18, 2016 at 1:53 pm #

    Sorry, didn’t see your comment back, didn’t click the email notification the first time around. Genki Cats is back to the restaurant model. The FB page is https://www.facebook.com/genkicat We were there a few days ago. There were twenty or so cats on duty. Of all the cat restaurants we’ve been to, this is our favorite. Our cat Schrödinger comes from these good folks https://www.facebook.com/SchrodingerCatPage

    • impercipient January 18, 2016 at 2:27 pm #

      Thanks, yes, I’ve seen their Facebook page and visited the new place a few months ago. I was glad it hadn’t closed down. Your cat is beautiful!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top Ten Taiwan Cat Cafes 台灣最佳十間貓咖啡 | Taipei Cat Cafes - March 6, 2016

    […] Genki Cats 元氣貓主題餐廳 This cafe is home to about 20 beautiful Maine Coon cats. Since so many stray cats need homes, I usually prefer cafes with mixed breeds but these cats are so friendly and happy, I’ll make an exception with this one. They’ve moved since I first wrote about them. I updated the address in the original post. They also now serve full, Japanese style meals in the same room as the cats rather than shaved ice in a separate room. 者間有大概20隻很漂亮的緬因貓. 因為很多流浪貓需要一個好家, 我平常喜歡有領養流浪貓的咖啡館. 但是這些貓非常開心非常親人所以我還是很喜歡這間. 他們有搬家. 我已經改好地址在原本的post. 他們現在有日式料理, 可以吃在貓區. […]

Leave a Reply

